Basic Chicken Lo Mein

I don’t eat chinese food very often.  I love it, but I don’t eat it.  First, I don’t like getting takeout chinese food (though it is a favorite of mine).  I always feel like it’s all fried and terrible for me.  Which is probably very true.  I was on pinterest and found a recipe for Chicken Lo Mein.  I was intrigued.  I thought about how I love chinese food.  I thought about how I love to cook.  I thought about how I love vegetables.  Like I said, I was intrigued.

I made it last night.  It was great.  I have leftovers in my lunch today and I’ll probably eat more tonight.  I’ve made so many new things in the past few days that we have to have a leftovers day.

To start off, I gathered my ingredients.  I cheated because I didn’t chop all my own vegetables this time, but you totally could if you wanted to. You need:

  • some chicken – we used 3 tenderloins because I didn’t realize that Jacob had gotten tenderloins instead of chicken breasts.  So when I texted him to tell him to take out 2-3 to thaw, that’s what he did… whoops 🙂
  • 1/2 pound of angel hair pasta
  • an onion
  • 2 cloves or garlic or 2 Tablespoons of minced garlic
  • 1 bag of california blend veggies (or any stir fry veggies… or you can chop them yourself)
  • 1/2 cup of chicken broth
  • 6 Tablespoons of hoisin sauce
  • 2 teaspoons of cornstarch
  • 4 Tablespoons of soy sauce
  • a splash of rice vinegar
  • 1 (15 oz) can of baby corn
  • 2 Tablespoons of olive oil

First things first, boil some water and get those noodles going.  While you’re waiting for the water to boil, chop up the onion and cut the chicken into strips (and chop up any other non-frozen vegetables you might be using).

IMG_0256

Our onions are pretty roughly chopped… I hate chopping onions, so this has to do most times.

If your water is boiling, put those noodles in and cook them according to package directions.  Put your sliced up onions in the pan with some olive oil and start them frying.  They should fry for 5-7 minutes on medium low so that they don’t burn.  Once they’re done, put them in a bowl and set them aside.

Now put your frozen (or freshly chopped) veggies into the pan with just a little bit of water – just enough to steam them.  It shouldn’t take to terribly long, I don’t like mushy vegetables – maybe 5-7 minutes.  Then move them into the same bowl as the onions.  Your noodles are probably done by now.  Drain them and set them aside until you need them.

IMG_0260

My frozen veggies… They just needed to be heated through. Make sure the bottom of your pan doesn’t get dry though, or you may burn some of the veggies.

Put the chicken into the same frying pan.  Sprinkle it with a little bit of salt and pepper.  Depending on how small you cut the chicken, it should take 3-5 minutes per side to cook through.  Make sure there isn’t any pink left in it!  While the chicken is cooking, make the sauce.

Mix together the chicken stock, hoisin sauce, soy sauce, corn starch, and just a splash of rice vinegar.  It should mix together fairly well, but don’t be too worried if it doesn’t.   Once you put it in the hot pan and mix it all together with the rest of the ingredients it should be fine.

IMG_0259 (1)

Stir Fry sauce is really oh-so-simple. And oh-so-delicious. (notice my Edmonton mug in the background? Thanks to my sister, Sarah)

Once your chicken is cooked through and your sauce is made, put the veggies back into the pan with the chicken and mix it well.  If you want, sprinkle in some red pepper flakes.  It will add a little bite.  I also put in a teeny bit more minced garlic, cause why not?  Put your cooked noodles into the pan and mix it the best you can.  This works better with a utensil that has some sort of tine or rough edges, not a regular serving spoon.  I used my spaghetti serving spoon.  It helped mix the noodles in better.  Dump in the sauce and mix and mix.  Your goal should be to coat everything in the sauce.  If you need to, you can add a little more soy sauce or hoisin sauce.  Don’t make it too saucy, though, or the sauce flavor will overwhelm the veggies and noodles.

I forgot an after picture!! Whoops.  Please forgive me.

I don’t have a wok, this may be something I need to add to my kitchen.  I made 3 pans dirty because I didn’t estimate correctly.  I had to keep going up to the next size!  Whoops.  This is a pretty basic recipe for Lo Mein.  You could add in whatever veggies or meat to make something to exactly fit your tastes.  I’m sorry I didn’t take very many pictures.  I promise to get better at that.  Enjoy your lo mein!

This entry was posted in Chicken, Pasta and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Basic Chicken Lo Mein

  1. Pingback: Southwest Ranch Pasta Salad | Malorie Leigh Cooks

Leave a Reply

