Creamy Tomato & Tortellini Soup

I do not love tomato soup.  I’ve never really even liked it.  But when it comes to grilled cheese, having tomato soup kind of seemed like a classic idea.  Plus, Jacob loves tomato soup and grilled cheese.  So, with this in mind, I set out to find a tomato soup recipe that wasn’t just a can of condensed soup and water.  I succeeded.  My only advice for this recipe is not to substitute ravioli like we did.  The raviolis are just a little to big for a soup.  Tortellinis would be nice and bit sized.

You won’t even need that many ingredients!

So good, but you can see how the raviolis are just a little big.

So good, but you can see how the raviolis are just a little big.

  • 2 (10 oz) cans of condensed tomato soup
  • 4 cups of heavy cream
  • 2-3 cloves of garlic, minced
  • 1 bag of frozen tortellini
  • salt & pepper to taste

Mix your cans of tomato soup, heavy cream, and minced garlic together in a big pot.  Stir it while it heats up so that you get it nice and smooth.  Once you bring it to a boil, turn down the temperature and add the tortellini.  Cook the tortellini according to package directions.  While the tortellini was cooking I made our grilled cheese sandwiches, but since there is pasta in this soup, you really could eat it without the sandwich.  I got full before I finished my whole bowl!

So, I found a tomato soup that I actually like.  I’m definitely going to make this again.  It was great for a dreary and chilly fall day.

This entry was posted in Pasta, Soup and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

