Crock Pot Turkey Chili

Anyone who has ever shared a kitchen with me knows that I’m the messiest cook ever. Even if I’ve only used one burner on the stove to make a box of mac and cheese the whole stovetop will probably need to be wiped down, along with at least half the counter.

This weekend, I’ve been very domestic.  If that’s a thing.  I cleaned my kitchen really well, I pulled out my sewing machine, which has been in a box in the closet since we moved 2 months ago, and worked on 2 different projects.  I started to knit a scarf.   All the laundry is folded (thanks to Jacob).    I even washed the sheets.  I always say that I should wash them, then promptly forget.

After all of those very domestic activities, I decided to top it off with a big old pot of homemade chili.

Something about chili just warms me down to the soul.  A good, thick chili is the perfect thing to eat on a brisk, fall day… and winter days… and we eat it in spring and summer too.  Chili is a definite favorite here in the VS household.

Since the price of ground beef has gone up so much lately, we’ve been using ground turkey instead.  In casseroles, chili, and various other mixed together dishes, you can’t even tell the difference.  I’m still not convinced to eat turkey burgers instead of hamburgers though.  Sometimes you have to work towards things.

You don’t need a whole lot of ingredients for a quick, simple chili.

  • 1.5 pounds of ground turkey or beefIMG_0352
  • 1 onion, diced
  • 1 (15 oz) can of chili beans
  • 1 (6 oz) can of tomato paste
  • 1-2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 packet chili seasoning
  • water
  • shredded mexican blend of cheeses

To start off, put that ground turkey (or beef) into a skillet and cook it through, stirring regularly.  My turkey was frozen, so it took longer than it should have.  I always forget to thaw my meat ahead of time.  Be smarter than me, people.

IMG_0353While your turkey or beef is cooking, chop up the onion and put it into the crock pot.  Drain the beans and then dump them into the crock pot too.

IMG_0356About a year ago, Jacob’s aunt was visiting here in Holland.  She made chili and it was so smooth and wonderful.  She told me that she mashes the beans and that her grandkids loved it that way.  I love it that way now too.  So, if you (or someone in your family) is not huge on beans because of the texture, just take a potato masher or fork, and mash away.  There will still be some whole beans in there, but overall, the texture is way better.

IMG_0358Just a reminder, make sure that you’re stirring your turkey/beef.    After you’ve stirred it, put your minced garlic into the crock pot.  I also ended up adding in some chopped up jalapeños.  Because I love my husband.

IMG_0360Once your turkey/beef is done, you’ll want to add it into the crock pot.  Then put your seasoning in and the tomato paste.  Mix it all together really well.  I added in about 1/4 cup of water to make it a little tiny bit more soupy, but don’t add too much.  We’re not actually making soup!

IMG_0363You can see the steam from my ground turkey in the picture… whoops.

After you mix it all together, turn the crock pot on low and cover that chili up.  Jacob and I went about doing various things for the rest of the day.  We went to Kohls, JC Penny, Dunham Sports, and Bed Bath and Beyond.  When we came home, the house smelled incredible.

I just thought of that potion in Harry Potter… Amortentia.  When you smell it you smell things that you love.  I think chili might be on that list for me.  Now I wonder how many different things you can possibly smell in that potion.  Hermione smelled 3…

After several hours, we made some biscuits and and dished up the chili.  It ended up being pretty  spicy (probably from the jalapeños).  We sprinkled on some taco cheese and it was delicious.

IMG_0366Leftover chili is one of my favorite things.  It’s so easy and yummy.  It’s definitely something I would put in my school lunch on Monday!

This entry was posted in Beef, Crock Pot, Soup and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

