Black Bean Burgers

Black Bean Burgers.  I’ve always liked alliteration.  I’ve never liked things that involved beans.  Until the last few years at least.  I’ve realized that beans make the chili that much better, that refried beans are almost a must when eating mexican food, and that maybe, just maybe, my mom and sister were right all along.  Maybe.

Even with this new appreciation for beans in various forms and recipes, I’ve never been able to convince myself to eat them as a main part of my meal.  My sister, Sarah, fed me black bean burgers several years ago.  I convinced myself they were gross because they were beans.  I’ve spent the past 2(ish) months trying to convince myself to actually attempt to make them.

I’ve learned something about myself.  I like black bean burgers… my husband doesn’t really know what to think.

Here’s what you need:

  • 2 cans of drained, rinsed black beansIMG_0388
  • 1 cup of bread crumbs
  • 2 eggs
  • a dash of hot sauce
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 1/4 cup Onion, grated
  • hamburger buns
  • some sort of cheese
  • whatever condiments you want!

To start off, make sure your black beans are drained and rinsed.  After that, dump them into a bowl and mash them really well with a fork.

IMG_0390Add in the bread crumbs, egg, grated onion, hot sauce, salt, and pepper.  Mix it with the fork so that it’s all blended together really well.  This will take a little bit of time, but it will happen, promise!

IMG_0391 IMG_0392

Now, divide the mixture and start forming it into patties.  They don’t have to huge, we found that ours were really filling.

IMG_0393Once you have them into nice patties, grab a griddle or a frying pan and melt in some butter.  Put the burgers into the pan for about 5 minutes on each side, until heated through.

IMG_0396Now, we melted some cheese on the tops of ours.  Provolone for Jacob.  Some mexican mix of shredded cheese for me.  I sprinkled some mesquite seasoning over the top right before I put the cheese on, then I put a lid on to make it melt really well.

IMG_0397Once the cheese is melted, transfer the patties onto your bun and add whatever condiments you want!  We just used regular ketchup, mustard, and mayo.  I made potatoes to eat along with them, and altogether it made a great meal!

IMG_0398

This entry was posted in Sandwiches and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

